kid creole – i wake up screaming (strut records, 2011)

Coming up next September 12, the spanking brand new album and in July a set of 12″ with dancefloor friendly  remixers! Read on… 

The Tropical Gangster is back. August Darnell a.k.a. Kid Creole returns with his first studio album in over 10 years this autumn, I Wake Up Screaming, an epic new Creolian odyssey recorded for Strut at Darnell’s Sweden HQ. With cover artwork echoing his love of 1940s film noir, the new album explores the vibrant mind of Darnell with a variety of themes and styles ranging from the lilting tropical love paean “Verily Verily Verily” to “Stony And Cory,” echoing Darnell’s early days with Dr. Buzzard’s Original Savannah Band. Mixed byBrennan Green (Chinatown Records, New York) and Lars Nissen (Denmark), the album features co-compositions and co-productions with Andy Butler of Hercules & Love Affair. The album will be preceded in July by the dream-like dancefloor winner, “I Do Believe,” complete with mixes by Brennan GreenFaze Action40 Thieves and Emperor Machine.

Darnell first came to prominence during the mid-‘70s in New York, forming Dr. Buzzard’s Original Savannah Band with his brother Stony Browder before producing a slew of eccentric projects for ZE Records including Cristina, Don Armando’s Seventh Avenue Rumba Band and Gichy Dan, as well as sporting his trademark zoot suit and fedora for the first time for the debut recordings by Kid Creole & The Coconuts. Signing on to Chris Blackwell’s Island Records and Seymour Stein’s Sire imprint, Darnell would become one of the ‘80s’ most unique and recognisable figures, scoring a brace of unforgettable chart hits mixing heavyweight tropical grooves with plenty of lyrical bite – “Stool Pigeon,” “Annie, I’m Not Your Daddy,” “I’m A Wonderful Thing Baby” and more.


chicken lips – she fish (lipservice, 2011)

Last year the Chicken Lips boys released the ‘Experience of Malfunction’ album, a suitably dubby and wonky collection of loose disco and house jams. This week they put out an extended 12″ version of one of the album stand outs ‘She Fish’ on their own Lipservice imprint. As with all Lipservice releases the duo have upped the repetition, rocked the rhythm and ridden the groove straight into the middle of the dancefloor. This release is no exception. The extended 12″ version is an organic disco workout, all baggy basslines and off kilter percussion with the sassy latino vocals. The ‘Main Stem Country Fishing Trip’ is as odd as it sounds, cooling things off a little and setting aim considerably higher than the floor, increasing the space and taking the kind of journey that Studio specialise in. Main Stem are new to Lipservice and are definitely ones to watch. On the flip the ‘Zeegfunk Warehouse Dub’ takes its cue from the previous Zeegfunk cannon and enters the peak time dancefloor (stage left of course). Dean and Andy deliver some classic house piano for those reach-up-to-the-ceiling vibes and some tropical breakdowns befitting of those latin vocals. I have a feeling this cut’s going to feature heavily over the next few months. Finally ‘Mean’ Dean Meredith goes solo on that ass under his Rhythm Odyssey moniker with his ‘Dirty Tape Edit’. On this incarnation of the track Dean leaves behind the usual Rhythm Odyssey jack in favour of an Emperor Machine style interpretation which could see alongside the best of his partner in crime’s work. All in all, the four cuts are of the highest quality and are so different to each other you’ll find something to wear on any occasion…

Buy the 12″ from Juno or Piccadilly, and to wet your appetite have a listen to the Original album cut, and a download of Leo Zero’s superhero camp HI-NRG Version…

Chicken Lips – She Fish (Leo Zero Remix)

dj harvey presents locussolus lp (international feel, 2011)

International Feel have this week announced the tracklisting and details for the forthcoming Locussolus LP, and caused great excitement in the bearded world. Whilst some will be disappointed that the CD version is essentially in the form of a collection of the three previous singles, albeit with the inclusion of a new track ‘Bloodbath’, this is made up for with the heady promise the new remixes show. Andrew Weatherall will be turning his dubby little techno mitts to ‘Gunship’, Norwegian cosmic ambassadors Lindstrom and Prins Thomas are delivering a new version of the brilliant and banging ‘I Want It’ and bleepy Komische king Emperor Machine is stretching Balearic groover ‘Little Boots’ into a 20 minute odyssey. In addition to this already impressive roster of remixers, Harvey will provide his own Dub of “Throwdown’ for our listening pleasure. I have no clue how these remixes or the new track sound, but have high hopes for a strong release. Those not wishing to be jipped by the CD release can buy a vinyl double pack of the four remixes for heavy club use, but at the cost of the loss of ‘Bloodbath’. Whatever the quality of the new tracks, any record containing ‘Next to You‘ is worth a listen…



1. Gunship
2. Little Boots
3. Gunship (Andrew Weatherall Remix)
4. I Want It
5. Throwdown
6. Bloodbath
7. Tan Sedan
8. Next To You
9. I Want It (Lindstrøm & Prins Thomas Remix)
10. Throwdown (Harvey’s Dub)
11. Little Boots (An Emperor Machine Special Edit Version)

Vinyl Double-pack:

1. Throwdown (Harvey’s Long Dub)
2. Little Boots (An Emperor Machine Special Edit Version)
3. I Want It (Lindstrøm & Prins Thomas Remix)
4. Gunship (Andrew Weatherall Dub)