C.O.M.B.i – c/d, you got love song, it a late (C.O.M.B.i, 2008)

After a quiet week for blogging last week I thought it was high time to present number two in the combi series. On sides C/D Eric D managed to take the ruthlessly effective cut and loop style he showed off with the first release and take it to the next level with two extremely good edits. On the face of it, you could argue that there isn’t a lot more going on here then some looping and extension and while this is true, it’s the choice of the loops, and the timing and dynamics of the tracks that sets this edit aside from the rest of the bunch.

On side c, Dunks took Front Page’s ‘You Got My Love’ (no stranger to an edit, check out Idjut Boys’ ‘Key to the Tripod’ release) and turned the high octane original into an extended disco workout. The guitar riff central to the track sounds like it could have been used for any number of late 90’s filter house production, and gives the track a modern sound, especially when coupled with the supercharged bassline. Then there’s those dramatic vocals sitting on top of everything which really hit their peak in the last minute of the song. A top drawer release.

The flipside presents a different kettle of fish. Things get going on a low slow grooving tip with a steady beat and head nodding bassline, extended for dj use into a ridiculously lengthy intro before the cinematic guitar swirls into place. Then the moment of realisation, it’s none other than Village People’s ‘5 o’clock in the morning’, a late night disco classic. This track is moody and groovy and straddles the slow mo disco/balearic divide perfectly. It also makes the perfect soundtrack to late night journeys.

So here in full high definition, 3d, brighter than bright ultra neon white 320 quality are these two pieces of recent disco mastery.


C.O.M.B.i. – a/b, i found morning/it come fast (C.O.M.B.i., 2007)

So this is where the c.o.m.b.i. journey started. In 2007 Eric ‘Dr Dunks’ Duncan, of Rub’N’Tug fame, put together two fairly basic disco edits and then sent them into the world on the new combi label. Since then he’s gone on a journey through disco, funk and psychedelic blues, not to mention the letters of the alphabet. On this inaugural release he slices and dices ‘High On Your Love’ by Debbie Jacobs and ‘Livin’ In The Jungle’ by City Streets into two high energy, peak time workouts. Featuring minimal use of effects these edits do more along the lines of restructuring the tracks, extending the breaks, delaying the vocals, squeezing all the juice out of the original instrumentation, and generally putting a rocket up the original tracks. Eric Duncan says the whole project came about from him trying to learn how to do an edit using a computer, rather than two cdjs, and on this release he shows off a good understanding of the dancefloor basics without displaying the fine use of effects seen on the later releases in the series.

I rate ‘High On Your Love’ as one of the greatest disco records ever released, and for me all the lengthening sort of removes some of the charm for the original, so i rarely choose to play this edit over the original. On the other hand ‘It Come Fast’ is a magnificent edit, packed full of power, always moving and changing. It pays its respects to the original, but takes it to the next level in the way the best edits can.

digitape – march 2011

posting this now, a bit late since it is already April 5th! but I promised myself to deliver one digitape per month. Tracklist below… enjoy and dance!

download / listen here: digitape – march 2011

1. unknown artist – paradise found (km edit)

2. wham – love maker – jim burgess mix

3. thomas jerome moulton – i don’t need no music – combi edit

4. unknown – untitled – kza edit

5. n.e.r.d. – hypnotize u – dj hell mix

6. four tet & burial & thom yorke – ego

7. caribou – ye ye

8. blackjoy – secret

9. unknown artist – stebeni’s theme – st. echo mix

10. unknown artist – untitled – joystick jay edit

11. alphaville – the nelson highrise (sector one) – disco 3000 edit